Background
Since 2007
Logo El Trailero Magazine
Español

Distribution
Diesel Price
Truck Scale
Weather
Truck Stop Locator
Road Service
Job Directory
Truck Sales
Trucking School

Are you ready to chain your truck?  Do you know the laws of each state?

Are you ready to chain your truck? Do you know the laws of each state?



Truck drivers have a very hard job, which demands a lot of sacrifice. Listening to many truck drivers talk about their work reveals great pride and satisfaction in working in the career they consider their passion. The work becomes even tougher and more challenging when winter comes, many states have very strict laws regarding the use of chains. The following are the states with the strictest laws:

- Colorado is the state with the strictest chain laws. The Colorado Department of Transportation through highway signs will let you know when to chain. If they detect dangerous weather conditions, truckers must chain all 4 drive wheels to comply with the law. In Colorado, chains are required from September 1 through May 31.

- The state of Nevada does not require commercial drivers to wear chains. However, chaining is required when there is snow or ice on the road, which will be indicated by highway signs.

- California also does not have a specific period in which chains are required, you will sometimes see notices requiring vehicles over 6500 pounds to chain and if you do not have chains, the CHP may be able to give you a ticket.

- In the state of Washington, all vehicles weighing 10,000 or more must carry at least 2 extra chains in case weather conditions require it or in case your chains break or don`t work. Drivers traveling more than 600 miles on some freeways or highways must have sufficient chains from November 1 through April 1. The fine for not wearing chains is $139 and for not chaining $503.

- In Oregon, the chain law applies to all highways in the state. During the winter, Highway posts advise drivers when the use of chains is necessary. In some areas illuminated messages warn when you have to chain. Beginning September 25, the minimum fine for failing to chain, if required, is $880.

We recommend you to be very careful during the winter season. No matter how experienced you are, do not be overconfident, you should obey the warnings and if you think the conditions are very dangerous, please stop the truck. Let the storm pass and then move on. Trucker`s life is more important than any cargo. God bless you. Wishing that this Christmas and that the coming new year 2023 brings you lots of health and well-being.


Latest Articles
Hot Summer, Obsolete Cooling Systems
Mechanical Tips
Hot Summer, Obsolete Cooling Systems

At Truck Stop Road Service, we understand that proper care and maintenance of the cooling system can prevent overheating...

read more...

Trucker Thefts Intensify in California
El Trailero News
Trucker Thefts Intensify in California

Cargo theft activity has reached "new levels" in the first quarter of 2024, according to an industry expert. C...

read more...

Is It Mandatory to Insure My Vehicles?
Safety at the Wheel
Is It Mandatory to Insure My Vehicles?

If you are financing a personal vehicle, then yes, it is mandatory. If you do not secure insurance, the finance company ...

read more...

Switching from Diesel to Electric Could Lead to Bankruptcy
El Trailero News
Switching from Diesel to Electric Could Lead to Bankruptcy

Amid government efforts to boost the adoption of electric trucks, a new technical report from Ryder reveals that the cos...

read more...

Safety at the Wheel

Autor

Edic.: 186
Autor: Juan Peña
Date: 1/2023


Distribution